New England Law screening of “The Response” - Mar 14, 2012

A screening of "The Response" and panel discussion will take place at New England Law | Boston on March 14, 2012.




Purchase the DVD:
Please join the conversation on Facebook!
. . . and follow TheResponseFilm
on Twitter!
Watch the trailer!
Email Newsletter icon,   E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter
For Email Marketing you can trust

Additional Credits

A talented crew supported the production of "The Response," including a substantial number of volunteers from the University of Maryland School of Law, and special thanks are due to Venable LLC.


Steve Bell

Casting Director
Ellen Novack

Costume Designer
Anita Yavich

Production Designer
Daniel Capiro

Executive Producer
The University of Maryland School of Law

Executive Producer
Venable LLP

Steve Bell
Ronit Greenstein

Associate Producers
Sandra Goldberg
Ellen Novack
Joe Scarry

Line Producer
Steve Blair

Karen Rothenberg
Teresa LaMaster

Unit Production Manager
Dawna Cobb

Publicity provided by
CaraMar, Inc.
Cara White, Mary Lugo and Abbe Harris

Associate Production Manager
Marcus Wang

1st Assistant Director
Dave Vogel

Camera Operators
Richard Chisolm
Nate Clapp

Key Lighting & Grip
Steve Scott

Boom Operator
Dwayne Dell

Script Supervisor
Ian Gracey

Second Assistant Director / Continuity
Tom Greenman

Hair & Makeup Designer
Sherri Rybczyski

Associate Costume Designer
Terese Wadden

Props Master
Daniel Capiro

Production Photographer
Barry Stelzer

Production Counsel
Cynthia Blake Sanders, Esq.

Technical Advisor
Professor Michael Greenberger, Esq.

Military Advisor
Rafael Maryahin, Captain, U.S. Marine Corps (Reserve)

D.C. Casting
DC Central Casting
Dagmar Wittmer
Mandy Sprinkel, Associate
Netsai Matowe, Assistant

Chief Researcher
Sandra Goldberg

Storyboard Artist
Nathanael Lark

Post-Production Supervisor
Sig Libowitz

Associate Editor
Josh Berger

Assistant Editor
Willow Robin

Off-line Editing Facility
Cosmostreet Editorial

Audio Post Production provided by
Sound Lounge

Sound Edited and Mixed by
Cory Melious

Audio Post Coordinator
Travis Call

Titles by
Switch FX

Mastering Facility
Riot Manhattan

Music House

Ethnic Flutes performed by
Mark Hollingsworth

U of MD Publicity provided by
Ed Fishel and Lori Romer

Craft Services Captain
Scott Russell

Sascha's Restaurant & Catering

I.T. Guru
Greg Smith

Production Accountant
Marcus Wang

Production Insurance
The Hoffberger Insurance Group

Legal Interns
Liz Ordun
Lenehn Ricks

Student P.A. Captain
Liz Ordun

Student P.A.'s
Anna Bakker
Revathi Manohar
Carolyn Mech
Dave Nolte
Lenehn Ricks
Eddie Siclari
David Spence

Filmed at the University of Maryland School of Law in Baltimore, MD

Tribunal sequence filmed in the Paul D. Bekman Courtroom

Flags provided by Embassy Flag

Star Hospitality provided by the Inn at Henderson's Wharf

Additional (stock) Footage provided by Getty Images and

This film was made possible in part by a generous grant from the France-Merrick Foundation to the University of Maryland School of Law Linking Law & Arts program.

The characters and events depicted in this film are based on public record transcripts taken from numerous Combatant Status Review Tribunals conducted at Guantanamo Bay, Cuba. The characters, their names and other descriptive details in this film are fictional. © Copyright 2008 Look at the Moon Productions, LLC

All Rights Reserved


The University of Maryland School of Law

This film could not have been made without the support and vision of the University of Maryland School of Law, its Deans, faculty, staff and students. Through every stage, Dean Karen Rothenberg, Professor Michael Greenberger, Associate Dean Teresa LaMaster, Assistant Dean Dawna Cobb, and everyone at the law school contributed to the film in some way. The filmmakers most gratefully thank the law school and all the amazing people who inhabit it and nurtured this idea into reality.

Visit the UMD School of Law Website [LINK]

Special Thanks

Jennifer, Karin & Sara Batterton
Caren Bohrman
Daniel Freedman
Kathy Gallo & Chesapeake Camera
Charlene Harvey
Kerric Harvey
Peter Hoffberger
Maryland Film Commission
Catherine Council Batavik & Jack Gerbes
Ian Mills & the amazing staff of The Inn at Henderson's Wharf
Jana Ramsay of Paul Weiss, LLP
Pierpoint Restaurant & Chef Nancy Longo
Chris Prete
Bernardo Revilla
Screen Actors Guild
Jane Love & Craig Cipollini
Serious Grip & Electric
Vico Sharabani
Michael Taylor
Venable LLP

Very Special Thanks -- at the The University of Maryland School of Law

Dean Karen H. Rothenberg
Assistant Dean Dawna Cobb
Associate Dean Teresa LaMaster
Associate Dean Jose Bahamonde-Gonzalez
Professor Michael Greenberger
Claydee Bolden
Arthur Cook
Ed Fishel (P.R. Master)
Dean Glorioso
Mary Alice Hohing
Irma Robins
Lori Romer
Alfred G. Ruppersberger (Mr. HVAC)
Greg Smith
Jamie Smith
Jeanne Stringer
John Stylc
Bruce Wilcox
Chief Cleveland Barnes and the officers & staff of the
University of Maryland Police
Lisa Treece and the Entertainment, Arts & Sports Law Society (EASL)

Further Very Special Thanks:

Eric Brown
Travis Call
Sue Chung
Cosmo Street Editorial
Corey Bouvet
Karen Hennegan Maura Woodward-Moulton Diana Dayrit
Alex Decaneas
Dorothy Ellison
Glenn German
Good Machine (with gratitude & in fond remembrance)
Tom Greenman
Brent Holt
Erik Huey
Emmanuelle Libowitz
Lillianna Libowitz
Jonathan Magel
Curt Nassau
Leslie Ries
Aaron & Ellie Rodgers
Jenny Rodgers
George & Joann Rodgers
Cynthia Blake Sanders
Cara White
Jacob & Simona Greenstein
Barry & Flora Stelzer

Venable LLP

The filmmakers also wish to thank the law firm of Venable LLP for its support and commitment to the film, the law and the lawyers who strive to protect and defend the Constitution. In particular, we would like to thank Geoff Garinther, Karl Racine and Winnie Weitsen for their belief and encouragement.

Visit the Venable LLP Website [LINK]